follow our newspaper

Lifestyle & Culture

Why I Watch TV and Read Books Like I Do

Luke Lombardi

I have always had obsessive behavior. Whether it be anxiety or deciding what to watch on TV, I am always obsessing over things. 

Most of the time, this is a bad thing. The only time it is a good thing is when it comes to movies, television and reading books or comics.

I tell my family and friends all the time that I am lucky to live in the streaming age. 

Due to my obsessive nature, I am a completist. 

Whenever I want to read a book or watch a movie that is in the middle of a series, I force myself to read or watch all of it. 

With any television show, even if it doesn’t matter where you start watching, I need to start from episode one. I have always been like this, and I personally enjoy it. 

A side effect of being so obsessive is how many subscriptions I have. 

With all of the services my household pays for, I won’t run out of things to watch or read anytime soon. 

Since I have so many different things to engage myself in, I can watch whatever I want or read any genre I like at any time.

The other side effect of my obsession is how much media I can take in at once. For example, one week over the summer, I read eight books. Every book was at least 200 pages, which means I read over 1,600 pages. I have also had stretches where I have watched 20 or more episodes of a TV show in three days. Because of my obsessive nature, I tend to watch or read slightly more than I should. This causes me to get burnt out on media quickly, but because of the variety of media I have access to, I tend to go in cycles of obsessing over three or four shows or books at a time.

While this nature could be considered crazy or bad, I wouldn’t have it any other way. My obsessive nature is the main reason I read nearly as much as I do. Without this nature, I would be less in tune with the world and pop culture. Quite frankly, I would not be myself without my obsessive nature and my bingeing habits. During a time like this, where everyone is bored and going crazy, I am doing what I normally do, which brings some ease because I have something that isn’t far off from my normal.

Recent Articles

Nivea Helps With Dry Skin

By Luke Lombardi May 6, 2020

Sebastian Casado   Everyone who knows me is aware that I never leave the house without moisturizer. It is something that I’ve felt is always necessary to use to take care of your skin well. My favorite hand lotion is the 48  hour Nivea body lotion with deep nourishing serum and shea butter. I use this product every day. It keeps my hands smooth and smells amazing. The moisturizer keeps your skin fresh and hydrated for 48...

Don’t Let the Pandemic Control Your Life

By Luke Lombardi May 6, 2020

Madison Bara As about a month of quarantine has passed, I am starting to get tired of hearing about the coronavirus (COVID-19). I understand that we are in a pandemic and need to take it seriously, but we don't have to talk about it every minute of the day.  During this quarantine, I rarely listen to the news, as I know that the situation is still going to be the same. Thus, instead of focusing on the...